Ward Law, LLC | DUI Defense | Estate Planning & Probate | Driver License | CDL | Expungement | Huntsville, Alabama

Alabama Driver License Suspension, Revocation & CDL Disqualification

This page provides information about Alabama driver license suspension, revocation & CDL disqualification. 

Alabama Driver License Suspension After DUI Arrest


Losing your driver license can be a devastating blow, especially when your license is necessary for your job. If you are facing an Alabama driver license suspension following a DUI arrest, Frank Ward can help. In fact, he has helped hundreds of Alabama citizens get their driver licenses back.  There is a 10-day deadline to request an administrative hearing in these situations.  For that reason, it is important to speak with a DUI defense attorney as soon as possible following a DUI arrest.  However, if the 10-day period has already passed, do not despair.  Mr. Ward may still be able to get your license back for you, but it is important that you contact him as soon as possible.

The majority of Alabama DUI arrests result in a driver license suspension case separate from the DUI charge itself.  This separate suspension is a penalty for either blowing over the legal limit or refusing a breath test. These are referred to as "per se" and "refusal" suspensions respectively.  This the "per se" or "refusal" suspension case must be fought separately and in addition to the DUI criminal charge. It is possible to win one and still lose the other.

Typically "per se" or "refusal" suspension begins after a period of 45 days.  The arresting officer usually gives the person a document that acts as a temporary license for that 45-day period.  There are certain procedural steps that the officer must take, and if he or she does not follow that protocol correctly, there may be grounds for having the suspension overturned for that reason.

The length of time the person loses their license depends on how many "contacts" the person has had in the previous 5 years.  A prior DUI conviction, per se suspension or refusal suspension would count as a prior contact. A first contact (i.e., zero prior contacts) results in a 90-day loss of license: a second contact, 1 year; a third contact, 3 years; and a fourth or subsequent contact, 5 years. 

CDL Disqualification

For commercial driver license (CDL) holders, a "per se" or "refusal" also results in a CDL disqualification. Depending on the CDL holder's record, the CDL disqualification could be for either 1 year or for a lifetime.  A CDL disqualification is a very serious matter because it is often necessary for the CDL holder to do his or her job.

Alabama Driver License Suspension or Revocation for Other Reasons

In addition to "per se" and "refusal" suspensions, a person can face a driver license suspension or revocation on a variety of other grounds these include but are not limited to: suspensions for accumulating too many points on your license in a 2 year period, driving while suspended or revoked, and failing to appear in court.

If you are facing an Alabama driver license suspension or revocation or a CDL disqualification, call Frank Ward today. He wants to help you, and is happy to answer your questions.